Secondary School

In the first year of the secondary school (our Y7) the scope of the curriculum widens to include a broader subject base.
The five years of secondary education culminate in the IGCSE examination. Pupils who have fulfilled the necessary requirements are presented by the school to sit for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE), run by the University of Cambridge Local Examination Syndicate (UCLES).
The first three years of secondary serve to introduce the pupils to more advanced study skills in preparation for the Checkpoint Examination which takes place in Y9. The Checkpoint Examination, taken in the core subjects of English, Mathematics and Science, serves to give a better understanding of the pupils’ strengths and weaknesses in preparation for subject choices in Y10, when the IGCSE programme begins in earnest.


The final 2 years are the examination years. The students are encouraged to use the study skills learnt through elementary school and Years 7 to 9 and take charge of their own learning to prepare them for the greater challenges they will face after they pass their IGCSE examinations at the end of Year 11.
We offer the following subjects at IGCSE and all our students are expected to do all the subjects in the first three years of secondary and study a minimum of nine subjects in the last two years.
1. Accounting
2. Additional Mathematics
3. Art & Design
4. Biology
5. Business Studies
6. Chemistry
7. Drama
8. Economics
9. English Language
10. French
11. Geography
12. History
13. Information & Communication Technology
14. Literature in English
15. Mathematics
16. Physical Education
17. Physics
18. Global Perspectives
19. Spanish

The IGCSE is a globally recognised qualification taken in Year 11. Like other modern curricular programmes, IGCSE offers a wide range of subjects and encourages high academic standards through a practical approach to teaching and learning. Assessment is not limited to conventional written papers and they consist of a variety of tests e.g. oral and listening tests. The assessment is aimed at ability range of students, with an eight-point grading scale, from A+ to G, with A+ being the highest.

IGCSE is a balanced curriculum and a flexible course of study. Most subjects offer a choice between core curriculum and extended curriculum. This gives students of all ability levels the freedom to choose subjects that are right for them and, thereby the opportunity to score good grades. The core curriculum is an overview of the subject and is suitable for students who are expected to achieve grades C to G. The extended curriculum is, sort of, a specialisation in that subject. It is more challenging and designed for students who are expected to achieve grades A+ to C.

Having an international outlook, IGCSE is better in that it is tailored for a multi-cultural and more multi-lingual audience.