Greensprings School’s history dates back to January 1985 when it started off as a Montessori school offering nursery education to children aged 2-5 years.

Founded In 1985

Since then, the school has grown remarkably and is today a leading institution offering a first-class education from the foundation stage to post-secondary levels. We believe that offering a progressive education gives both parents & pupils’ stability and continuity, removing the inconvenience of having to change schools periodically.

From our first campus, situated in the heart of the Lagos mainland, which started with only 3 pupils, Greensprings School has grown tremendously in size and has also now established a state of the art campus on the Lekki Peninsula and Ikoyi, with a combined student population of over 2,500 pupils.

History of Greensprings School


Greensprings school has been entirely self-supporting since inception. There is a Board of Governors, which, not only guides the overall direction and strategic running of the school; it also oversees the work of the Director of Education and the School Director.

We look at our history with pride and affection but we also look forward with eager anticipation to the challenge of meeting the current educational needs of children growing up in the global village of the 21st century.

Greensprings School Heads of Schools

1985 – 1990 Mrs. Lai Koiki
1991 – 1999 Dr. Dolapo Ogunbawo
2000 – 2001 Mrs. Lai Koiki
2005 – 2007 Mr. Howard Bullock (Anthony and Lekki Campus)
2007 – 2008 Mr. Bruce Stevenson (Anthony Campus)
2008 – 2011 Mr. Richard Woods (Anthony Campus)
2008 – 2010 Mrs. Maeve Stevenson (Lekki Campus)
2010 – 2016 Mr. Harry McFaul (Lekki Campus)
2011 – 2013 Mr Andrew Egan (Anthony Campus)
2014 – to date Ms Helen Brocklesby (Anthony Campus)
2016 – to date Mrs Bola Kolade (Lekki Campus)
2018- to date Mrs Dolapo Fatoki (Ikoyi Campus)

Greensprings School Directors of Education

2006 – 2007 Mr John Todd
2007 – 2010 Mr Bruce Stevenson
2010 – 2011 Mr Richard Woods
2011 – 2013 Prof. Dr George A. Hickman
2013 – 2016 Mr Harry McFaul
2016 – to date Ms Helen Brocklesby